Day 192-Throwback Thursday-1987-1988

Images from the little house in Haltom City

Images from the little house in Haltom City

This morning we are going way back to 1988, a few months after the birth of my youngest son, Christopher. Pictures take us back and insert us right into the time period by seeing the surrounding objects and people that were in our lives at the time, don’t they? I can so totally remember our first little house in Haltom City, we had been in a rent house before that, this was our first owned house, and at the time we were so proud of it.

In the top left picture is my brother-in-law Robert (Bubba) who was living with us at the time, holding Joshua, standing next to my very first car that David bought me, the other vehicle in our lives in the background. The love machine. God how David loved that VW bus, along with the kids, they all thought it was the best thing since sliced bread. Me, I can get into how cool it was now, however, I was not as convinced back then. You have to understand, I have a mind for sporty vehicles and neither one of these vehicles fit the bill, but they did have their charms. I remember how disappointed I was when Dave came driving up in the Cavalier, I know I sound spoiled, I should have been ecstatic, but it was so square shaped and non-sporty…it was short lived though, my feelings and the car. I got hit in it two different times within the time I owned it, that ended that car. The first time someone shaved the whole front end off of it on Grapevine Hwy as I was attempting to pull out into traffic, the next time I was rear-ended on the freeway-that one was scary but I survived both accidents relatively unharmed.

The next picture clockwise is of Dave and I holding our boys, sitting in our porch swing that a friend made us, on our little front porch. Some days we would come home to find our neighbor Cecile sitting on it, waiting for one of us to get home so he could ask us a favor. Those were the days, the boys introduced us to Jack, who lived two houses down, a man that became our friend for life after that. The funny story about that swing was, when he first hung it up, I was huge with Chris and he asked me to sit on the swing with him…in his lap no less, and I asked if it would hold us. I was scared but did it, and that’s when the spring pulled right out of the ceiling and dropped us both onto the porch. Luckily we were unhurt and died laughing about the whole thing. As you can see, he and Bubba rehung it later and it worked out fine after that.

The last picture should have been first, if I was going in order. It is me holding Chris and we are both asleep, I’m laying on one of our many furniture purchases over the years, I can’t remember that ugly shirt I’m wearing but I do remember that big blue pillow, lol. You can’t see it, but the couch is right in front of the window to the front porch, I can see the chain the swing is held up by. The cream colored blanket is one his grannie made us, we still have it to this day. We used to throw that big pillow on the floor and cuddle with the boys in front of the tv, sharing the blanket I’m sure.

So many memories of that first little house, re-doing the kitchen and nursery, meeting and interacting with our neighbors, the boys starting school and staying through elementary, the joys and pains of having my brother-in-law co-habitate with us, 1987-1988 itself, having a new house, car and baby was so stressful in our young lives, financially and otherwise…but we made it and look at us now. We’ve come a long way, and we have our memories of how we started and grew into a loving family, we are all still close, some people are gone from that time period but we remember the good times-and the bad. That was the time Baby Jessica fell down the well, I remember watching the news coverage for three days until they finally extracted her, hurt but alive. It made us all want to hold our children that much tighter and never take our eyes off of them.

I love looking at old pictures and stretching my memory muscle a little bit, I have to exercise it like that before I forget everything. I hope you enjoyed my little flashback, I feel so nostalgic looking at these pictures, I can’t say I really miss that house, but we did make some good memories there. We never even used the back yard as big as it was, there was too much to do inside, we were broke and the babies were too small to enjoy it anyway. Our next house in the city we currently live in but a few neighborhoods over, had a perfect backyard, with a pool and at one time, a trampoline. The kids have many great memories of that house, maybe I’ll share pics from that one next time! Until tomorrow then, have a great Thursday and I’ll see you on the patio! 😉

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 192-Throwback Thursday-1987-1988

  1. Those were fun memories. Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

  2. Don’t be hating on the cavalier, LOL! That was my first car!! I love that you told the story about the porch swing and the pillow! It is like you writing down the memories of these pictures in more detail than if you were to write on the back of the picture! Awesome! It is just like you were saying on another throwback thu that we should ride on the backs of the pictures before we forget, which happens to us all. Thanks for the memories!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

