Are you Rare?

Please check out this timely post by my friend Stephanie Kilgore! She is helping spread the news about the wonderful organizations that educate and help those with rare diseases.

Camp Craig Allen Blog

rare-disease-day-2017This coming Tue, Feb 28 is Rare Disease Awareness Day. A disease is considered rare when it effects fewer than 200,000 people in the USA. That is not many people at all when you consider the massive amount of people living here.To check out much more that is happening for this very special day you can go to: http://www.rarediseaseday.org/

I just happen to be one of those individuals with a rare disease. It is called Friedreich’s. Ataxia. Approximately 1 in 50,000 people in the US get this rare disease, yay me! A genetic progressive neurological disorder that affects balance, coordination, and fine motor skills. I will not give you all the details just go to http://www.curefa.org. To be completely honest not a huge fan of the word  disease, but this day started in 2008 in  England.  I do not have any say so in changing the name, so I…

View original post 203 more words

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you Rare?

  1. Thanks for sharing, PKD is also rare correct? Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

