Day 216- Free Days-A Sunday Visit to Cahill UMC

Inside Cahill UMC
Inside Cahill UMC

Good Sunday everyone! Today we decided to go visit our old church in Alvarado, Tx- Cahill UMC

Man, it was like going home again! We had not been back in over 7 years, yet as soon as we walked in, we were greeted as usual by the sisters that always sat in the back, Mickie and June. I could not believe they were still there and it brought a tear to my eye that they remembered us and were exited to see us visit. Also, the organist Lynn was still there and several others in the congregation we had come to know when we used to live in Alvarado. It was such a joy to see old acquaintances still in attendance, even if the preacher has changed. He was a nice fellow, honestly I have to admit I missed AJ being there but things change and we move on.

While we were on that side of the world, we had brunch and drove back by the old homestead. We had lived on a three acre property at the end of a mile long street, right next door to a beautiful horse ranch. I miss it out there, yes, it’s a ways from the city we live in now, but I could live out there again. I miss the quiet of the country and the ability to go get lost in my own backyard ( the back couple of acres was just woods). We used to build a bonfire and sit out back watching it burn while our dog chased the goats around. Ya can’t do that in the city. The house looked exactly the same, across the street however, a new house was being built. I had to wonder what changes, if any, had been made to our old house. Since we have remodeled almost every house we’ve lived in, I’m always curious to see if people like it, or change it (after all that work we did)!

Now I’m off to tackle some homework and maybe paint my nails, if I have time for both. I hope you all have a great Sunday and get some relaxing done. I’ve relaxed enough and need to get something done, so I’ll see you tomorrow for another quote or scripture and your dose of Monday motivation. Before I go, I thought I’d share a photo of a piece of jewelry I made way back when I first started. I never completed it, it started out being a bolo tie, however, I could never find the right cabachon for the concho, so it sits in it’s bag, waiting for the day I finish it. (Which may never come.)

One of the first pieces I ever made
One of the first pieces I ever made
2 Replies to “Day 216- Free Days-A Sunday Visit to Cahill UMC”

Care to comment?

