Day 222-Free Days-The Icing On The Cake

My first check as a published author

Today has been a great day running around with my husband, and then getting this in the mailbox was the icing on the cake of my day, the day before my birthday. It is the check from the article I wrote for VitaBella Magazine- A Tiny Seed With Big Promise.  My hubby immediately took a pic of me with it and posted it to Facebook. He’s a keeper! Anyway, it was not the amount I was paid but the fact that I did get paid for a writing job that is important. It gives me validation and confidence to expect payment for writing jobs in the future.

Tomorrow my hubby will make me spaghetti for my birthday dinner and the family will come over and celebrate with us and I will be another year older. I am blessed to have another year in the books, it’s been a sad year in many ways for lots of my family and friends. Tonite, I learned that my former employer and friend, Laurie Casson passed away on Thursday. His wife BJ has been so overwhelmed with everything I guess she didn’t think to call me until now. I never got to say goodbye, and that saddens me and upsets me as well. They always treated me like family, yet no one let me know he was deathly ill and in the hospital. I can’t imagine all she has been going through, dealing with his care, trying to get the house ready to sell, moving herself…I had no idea any of this was going on. I worked for him and their company Lifequest on and off for several years, he was quite the character.  I will miss him and his English accent, dry humor and quick wit.

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 222-Free Days-The Icing On The Cake

  1. Nwendubrights says:

    okay..happy birthday to you my dear, age with grace.

    Like

  2. Suze says:

    oh congratulations and happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful milestone — to be paid for writing! Congratulations! Happy birthday, too! Hope you have a marvelous day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations! Your hard work has paid off and you have never given up! I am very proud of you! That was an awesome birthday gift! And a good picture of you! Sorry to hear about your friend, it sounds like you have great memories of him. Hold onto that! That is what he would want. Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ron Walker says:

    Congratulations! A belated but very warm Happy Birthday to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

