Day 225-MET-(my essay tuesday)-I Got an Ab Lounger

Yesterday I was looking around in my email and came across an ad in my local neighborhood app for a free ab lounger. After reading the reviews on this worthless piece of exercise equipment, I now know why they were giving it away. Still, I want to give it a try, I thought…it was free after all.

The magical Ab Lounger

So I see the ad and I notice the time is ten minutes to five and think, I have just enough time to drive down the street, pick it up and get back before my hubby gets home. Well, that’s not how it went. By the way, the hubs HATES me bringing other people’s crap home, so you can see my dilemma. Anyway, I was determined to have it, so after contacting the “sellers” I plugged in the address to my GPS and found that I would make it there and back in no time flat. I didn’t even close the garage door, that’s how convinced I was that it would be a quick transaction. So, I get to the guy’s house, as promised, the ab lounger is on his front porch. The thing is bigger than I thought and what’s more, it cannot be folded down any smaller. Did I mention I drive a Dodge Challenger?

After fumbling around on the porch for a minute trying to figure out how to fold this thing smaller, during which time some rusty water oozed out of one of the metal legs on the thing, the fellow comes out to greet me, and he and his wife attempt to help me wrestle this contraption into my car. Actually, he took one look at my car and said, “Uh, this is not gonna fit in that” to which I replied, “Are you sure we can’t fit it in the trunk?” all the while panicking inside at the thought that time is running out and the hubs would soon be home. “Well, lets take a look,” the guy says and I open the trunk.

Ten minutes later, a very reluctant husband and I went back for the piece of crap, this time with the truck. The lady kindly had put it in the back yard and came out to assist us, while holding her dog in the back yard to prevent it from bolting down the street. The hubs kindly loaded it and we placed it on my patio until I find a better place for it. (like someone else’s house) I tried it out immediately and was pleased at how easy it was to use. Unfortunately, the motion hurt my right knee, but I figured I can reposition it and concentrate on the abs like I’m supposed to. I have no idea how many I’m to do to feel anything, so I start out small and do about 25 crunches and call it a day. Now, don’t think I am one of those people who believes the gimmick that all I have to do is a few crunches in this thing and my body will magically transform into a beach ready body overnight. I also eat right (most of the time) and do other exercises like walking and swimming (when I feel like it) and truly believe the lie I tell myself that I will make time to use the new contraption.

Now I’m trying to decide if I can wrestle it into the house and where would I put it if I did, because I am not giving in that easy, just because I read some bad reviews on it. Besides, I have to show the hubs that I didn’t bring this other person’s junk into my home for nothing, I vowed that I would use it and become svelte for summer. Did I also neglect to mention that I am four foot nine and weigh 102 jiggly pounds and I just turned 56? Oh well, if nothing else, I’ll have an extra chair with which to catch some rays by the pool in, and maybe I’ll get a crunch or two in at the same time. πŸ˜‰

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in House and Home, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 225-MET-(my essay tuesday)-I Got an Ab Lounger

  1. Amusing! You were in a quandary! I find it best to be “in” something when I have second thoughts, and you were “in” a quandary. It seems to have protected you so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You made me laugh! Happy for your motivation! Don’t be coming to my house on Thu. all sore? LOL and don’t forget to stretch! Rolling on, Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

