Day 229-Free Days-What Saturday’s are Made For

Saturdays. That’s our day for running around together, my husband and I.  We started the day with breakfast at Waffle House, which was delicious by the way, and I cheated some with three bites of my husband’s waffle. I didn’t beat myself up about it, but then came lunch. My son came to visit and we continued our errands with him in tow and he was craving Taco Cabana. Well, I just had to try a passionfruit margarita, so there’s cheat number two. It was pretty good, btw. More sugar then alcohol but, I digress. Then after a while the guys went to play golf, I was due to play Bunco at six, so I went and got my nails done (my first purchase with the new debit card from my very own bank account) and stopped by for a short visit with my Dad. We played a few games of pool and I left to go to my Bunco game. There they had a delicious looking spread and although I wasn’t very hungry, I ate some salad and some chips and guacamole. Just a few. After two rounds it was time for dessert and I lulled myself into believing it wouldn’t be so bad if I had half a piece of the yummy chocolate ice cream cake. Where has my resolve gone? What happened to my willpower?

Luckily, I prescribe to the 80/20% rule when it comes to the Paleo lifestyle. I still manage to maintain my weight, because I’m “good” most of the time. I take my probiotics and use my essential oils every day. I drink lots of water and the occasional kombucha (a fermented drink that provides more probiotics.) I do need to increase my excercise and stop drinking so many margaritas for sure, but where’s the fun in that? I believe that giving in to a treat now and then will make one stick to any diet more than total rigidity.

My booty from the estate sale

One part of our errand running was a side trip to some estate and garage sales, where I picked up a few lovely pieces of jewelry for $5 and my husband obtained a practically brand new sand blaster for $25! Then, we went to my favorite health food store and I got a bogo deal on coconut oil and saved $22! I also got some grapefruit essential oil which will help me maintain my weight. I didn’t win a prize at Bunco, but I had a great time with my friends. The men got to spend some quality time with each other and we all had a fabulous day. That’s what Saturdays were made for.

Prizewinning bunco player

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 229-Free Days-What Saturday’s are Made For

  1. rgodrains2 says:

    Fun Evening with you at BUNCO! Thanks for splitting dessert with me!
    It’s a new day!
    Let’s make it a 100% on track day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You should not beat yourself up over those cheats! I could never drink alcohol at noon, but I guess it’s 5 o’clock somewhere! That jewelry looks so nice, you got a steal of a deal! You got an awesome deal on some clothing when we went shopping on Fri.! This girl knows how to shop!! All you need is to win at bunco! Maybe next time!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

