Day 236-Free Days- Have You Seen a Tulip Tree?

Tulip tree in my neighborhood

A close up view

I was driving home from Stephanie’s house a couple of weeks ago and saw this really neat, totally different looking tree. It had these lilac colored flowers that were so big, I didn’t believe they were real. I just had to stop and take a picture, I had never seen one of these before.

I asked my mother in law what she thought it was, and she told me it was a tulip tree. If you click the picture, you will see that when enlarged, they really do look like tulips! Have you seen one of theses trees? Let me know or take a picture and show it on your blog. Have a great Saturday and I’ll see you tomorrow on the patio

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in House and Home, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 236-Free Days- Have You Seen a Tulip Tree?

  1. I learned the tulip tree in Tennessee and found it was called a magnolia in New York. Your tree looks nothing like the one I knew. It’s lovely, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suze says:

    that is a southern magnolia. it is also known as a tulip tree in the west. I love them. I had magnolia blossoms in my bridal bouquet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Smyth says:

      That’s not what I know as a magnolia. Our magnolias have big creamy flowers which put off a lovely lemony smell and take forever to grow. There was one close to where David’s granny lived in east Tx that was over 100 yrs old! They have huge, glossy dark green leaves and are the state tree of Mississippi. I guess there are other varieties that I have never heard of!

      Like

Care to comment?

