Day 246-MET-How I Found My Favorite Clothing Store

When you are four foot nine and have the body of a child, it makes it difficult to find clothes that fit without needing to alter them in some way. That was my story until the day I discovered New York & Company, the only place I could buy jeans off the rack and not need to hem them up.

I remember being stationed in Korea and thinking I was in Heaven because I had a tailor, someone who could make clothes to fit me specifically for a very cheap price. It became harder when I got pregnant, and I wish I would have kept the clothes they had made for me, just for the sake of having them to show my kids or something. No, my mother thought it best to get rid of them, she didn’t think I needed a reminder of the tents I was having to wear, nor did she think I would ever need them again. I remember the girls there used to follow me around like the Pied Piper asking me all kinds of questions about who my daddy was, why was my name Kim, oh I was so pretty and little, they were going to make beautiful clothes for me…I had been waiting to have a special crocheted bikini, that I designed, made for me when my tailor found out I was pregnant. She was not the only one who was crushed by the revelation.

As time went by, I gained and lost weight many times, and then I got really small-right before I met and married my husband I was at my lowest weight and could wear little boys clothes from Kmart. I weighed eighty seven pounds. I’m not too far over that right now, but the shape of my body is different. Anyway, he used to take me to the mall, trying to find clothes that didn’t fall off of me, usually without success. I remembered that my mom used to take me to Lerner’s when I was a kid for my school clothes, now it is called New York & Company. I was alone the day I went there and tried on a pair of jeans right off the shelf. Oh happy day! They fit like a glove and with my boots on, they needed no hemming. I went straight to the counter and got a store credit card, I had found my mecca.

Through the years of having babies, yo-yo dieting and everything else, I have gained and lost weight so many times, I have the range of sizes of jeans from zero to eight in my closet.  I refused to get any bigger than an eight and now I am back down to a zero to two (according to their size chart anyway) and actually have many pairs sitting in a closet, just in case. I tried to sell them once because they cost a lot of money, but I didn’t try the right venue. I need to put them on the newest app called five miles, that one really gets results. Finding that clothing store was a godsend, regardless, and I still buy from there to this day. Strange thing is, the only thing that fits me that well from the store are the jeans, I try on a dress and it hangs off of me. Blouses fit ok, as long as I get extra small, and even then they are too big sometimes, depending on the style. The only reason David let me have a credit card there was because then he wouldn’t have to listen to me whining about not being able to find clothes that fit me.

Still, I don’t use it all that much,  credit being what it is, but because I am a gold card holder, I get all the perks and coupons and money off specials, so I continue to be a loyal customer. Soon, I will be too small to wear their clothes because they changed the sizes and what used to be a zero is more like a two etc. I know this because when I shop for a two or a zero at other stores, they do not fit me the same way. It is alright though, I continue to find clothes that fit and besides, they have increased their inventory to include jewelry, scarves, shoes and belts, so besides regular clothing items, there is always something I can find there. I save this store for special occasions and buy my everyday clothes at thrift stores (because I am frugal and proud of it), I bring them home and wash them and wear them and it doesn’t bother me at all. That’s what happens when you have champagne taste on a beer budget after all. New York is getting all fancy now with their Eva Mendez collection, the prices have gotten so high, the only time I would ever go shopping is when there is a sale. Still, I love to walk through the store from time to time, fingering the fabrics and marveling at all the beautiful colors, they really have stunning clothes, especially for ladies that dress up for work.

I remember when I was a kid, my mom would send me to Lerner’s with a hundred dollars to purchase my school clothes, and I was so frugal, I would come back with a complete wardrobe. You can’t do that anymore!

 

3 Replies to “Day 246-MET-How I Found My Favorite Clothing Store”

  1. There are still some places out there, like hidden gems when you find them. I like to check out the thrift stores too. I dated a girl once that would buy brand name and never wear it. Then she would donate it tags and all to the thrift store.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

