Day 253-MET-Is Oatmeal Healthy?

Good morning my peeps and how are you on this cool and cloudy Tuesday? I survived the thunderstorms and nickel-sized hail we had last night, although I didn’t get much sleep.

I know I said my essay today would be on pet love, however, life has a way of throwing you curveballs and this morning has been crazy. After getting the dogs to the groomers, and knowing I had a ton to do today with a dr appt. thrown right in the middle of the day, I figured I better get my kitchen duties done before writing my post for the day.

Last night, I came across a delicious looking recipe I found on Pinterest for baked steel-cut oatmeal. Now, I try to eat as Paleo as possible, so in that quest I purchased some of these preferred oats at Big Lots the other day. My first experiment with them did not go so swell.  Wish me luck (or I’ll update later) on the baked treat I have been promised by Alexandra’s Kitchen. Check it out for yourself and then let me know how yours turned out.

What I wanted to explain here today, is the difference in the three types of oatmeal most commonly consumed and why Paleo guru Mark Sisson says it is not really Paleo. (healthy) In my life, Paleo equates to being/eating healthy, just so you know. 🙂

The three most common types of oats are steel-cut (one step above horse feed), rolled oats (the most commonly consumed), and instant oats ( the kind with added sugar and flavors.)

The “whole grain” form of an oat is called a grout, according to Mark (I’ll include a link to his article at the end) and is rarely sold like that, except for maybe horse feed.

Steel-cut oats are whole grouts chopped into smaller pieces. They contain the most nutrients and some of the bran that doesn’t flake off is retained. They taste nuttier than rolled oats but still have the anti-nutrient phytic acid in them, which is nearly impossible to remove. Yet these would be classified as the healthy version as opposed to the other two choices.

Rolled oats are steamed grouts that have been flattened and rolled out, and the bran has been removed. When most people think of oats, this is the kind they mean.

Instant oats are rolled, steamed, pre-cooked oats that are immediately ready to eat when hot liquid is added. These are the least nutritional, with lots of sugar and added flavorings like brown sugar and maple.

What makes these low on the healthy totem pole is the phytic acid and the avenin, a protein in the prolamine family. If a grain is rich in minerals, the presence of phytates prevents the full absorption. Avenin poses the same problems as gluten in certain sensitive people. So they aren’t really the best grain for us to eat.

The reason oats get a good rap from health organizations is because of the fiber they have called beta-glucan that increases bile acid excretion. It’s a a soluble fiber and it takes the serum cholesterol out as bile acid is excreted. Plus, it has bran (steel-cut oats do anyway) that may protect against atherosclerosis, but then again, so does a diet rich in yellow and green vegetables, so is oat bran really some magical substance? Maybe not, but they are a comfort food that lots of people just can’t live without.

All that being said, I decided that since Mark says if you are going to eat them, opt for the steel-cut variety, because they are classified as better than wheat but worse than rice, from a grain perspective. (here is that link to the article…Mark’s Daily Apple) Of course, he doesn’t like them to begin with and feels like there are many other foods with a better flavor profile, but I just have to say, I am enjoying the baked variety I just made very much!

Tastes better than it looks folks, trust me!

I’m not sure what went “wrong” here, but mine came out of the oven not looking like a baked good at all, yet tasting absolutely delicious! The flavors are nutty, sweet and chewy- not slimy like you normally think of with oatmeal. Since it came out with butter still sizzling in the bottom of the dish, I’m assuming my pan was too big or the fact that I used almond milk instead of whole milk may be the problem. It matters not, because to me, this was a delicious mistake and I will have no trouble gobbling up the whole pan! (not in one sitting though) I used fresh frozen blueberries, maybe they added a watery consistency, but they tasted great. I put it back in the oven a few minutes, but it didn’t firm up anymore, just browned a little bit. Still tastes delicious.

OMG! You have to give this recipe a try! I used Kerrygold butter and almond milk, the rest of the ingredients are Paleo approved, so it is healthy enough for occasional consumption. Y’all, this is coming from a girl that never liked oatmeal before, I have slowly been teaching myself to tolerate it and have been on the hunt for a great recipe for the steel-cut oats. Well, I’ve found it! I will have to make it again sometime and tweak the recipe, because Alexandra’s came out looking more like bread and less like…oatmeal. Still, the taste is what’s important, and it passes the test!  Plus, I used Bob’s Red Mill award winning steel cut oats which won the Annual Golden Spurtle World Porridge Making Championship, the first time the competition has been won outside of Scotland!

The best steel-cut oats

I should have taken a picture before I dove into the pan, but I got in a hurry to try them. The recipe can be found at the link above for Alexandra’s Kitchen- and no, I’m not getting any compensation for all these products I’m talking about today, however, there is a method to my madness. I’m hoping you will find out what it is soon, if I have time to work on it today. 🙂

I hope I have provided you with some answers to your questions about oatmeal, and I hope you will give this amazing recipe a try! Come back tomorrow for Wednesday’s Medical Minute, hopefully it won’t be raining again, on the patio!

 

 

 

 

 

13 Replies to “Day 253-MET-Is Oatmeal Healthy?”

  1. I still make my own oatmeal-cooked porridge, I add cut oats to a lot of foods. We used to grow oats when I was young, the cats loved “Chop” basically plain oat flour! used to give them some every night, weird I know! I tried to make an Oat flour bread last week, no wheat, it had flax, rice flour,corn starch, eggs, honey, and canola oil and yeast…I added a touch of dill for flavor, it was good, but I had a megga allergic reaction to either the honey or cornstarch…..I had to give it away..:( (grinding the oats to make flour killed (literately)my little grinder !Lucky I have another!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are many, many ways to use it-skin and hair care, replace your cooking oil, in your morning coffee (aka, bulletproof coffee), baking, fat bombs…wait, I have a book somewhere I can email to ya!

    Like

  3. Ahhh, baking them gives them such a different flavor, you should at least try it once and tell me what you think. Send me your recipe too and I’ll try your way!

    Like

Care to comment?

