Day 265-Free Days-How I Spent My Weekend (Spoiler…Not Writing)

Happy Sunday everybody! I hope your weekend has been as productive as you wanted it to be. Mine was, if yardwork is your bag.

Dave and Chris building me an acorn sieve

Me using it

Athough I was supposed to write another review on the website-Products From the Patio, we spent most of yesterday working in my Mother-in-law’s yard and today in our own. Not to mention I’m going on 4 hours of sleep, due to my son waking me up coughing from working in the cold in shorts and no coat yesterday (he has bad allergies and asthma…and smokes 😑) and the other thing is that I’m still having computer problems and did not get what I needed to write my review today. Hopefully I will get it soon and I will compose the post as soon as I do.

On the plus side, I surely worked off lots of calories this weekend with all the exercise I got raking, sweeping, root pulling and shoveling on the two yards. Wish I had taken before and after pics of Claudette’s backyard, but I was cold and tired when we finished and was ready to get home and take a hot bath.

As tired as I was from not getting sleep, I worked my tail off for another four or five hours in my own yard, maybe getting energy from a combination of lemongrass essential oil and a new coconut water I tried that was infused with coffee-not to mention sheer will of wanting to get the job done. The boys worked hard as well, chopping and digging out the roots of eight more bushes, building me an acorn sieve for the thousands of acorns accumulated over years of neglected yard work by the previous owners. They planted that darn jasmine ground cover and let it take over the beds completely. We found everything from trash to shingles in that stuff!

Add to that, my husband built the brackets needed to hang the tv in the soon-to-be-remodeled game room (man cave) even after all that yard work and is kindly cooking dinner for us now! That man is a keeper!!

I will be so glad when the tilling gets done and I am able to start planning and planting new things. I’m very sore and tired, but glad for semi-clean beds. In retrospect, I did more work than necessary, I should have waited until we tilled to sieve and pull roots, it’s ok though, we have several bags of leaves, acorns and bush roots to show for it. Sometimes, writing has to take a backseat so other things can be accomplished…and that’s ok too. πŸ˜‰

 

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 265-Free Days-How I Spent My Weekend (Spoiler…Not Writing)

  1. Ron Walker says:

    Changing up a routine is sometimes a good thing. It sounds like you worked hard but enjoy the results of the hard work. Plus you had supper cooked for you, he must have wanted that man cave bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    The truth is he cooks a lot of the time, he just knew I was too pooped to pop!

    Like

  3. You will have to explain what a acorn sieve is the next time I see you! Good job for the you! I cannot wait to see it all done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kim Smyth says:

    Thanks Stephanie, me as well!

    Like

Care to comment?

