Day 281-Wednesday’s Medical Minute-Time to Gear Up For Walk PKD

Well folks, I got my first email today from the PKD Foundation letting me know that it’s once again time to start thinking about the PKD Walk for a cure. Last year some of you were so sweet and helped me raise some money for this potentially fatal disease. I appreciate it and I want to do something this year to encourage you to help out again, whether that be a giveaway, a coupon or some other goodie I can dream up. Good thing is, I have until October to figure it out! Maybe some of you creative geniuses can even give me some ideas on the subject…you know, help me help you!

As you may or may not know, my mother passed away from complications of PKD after being on dialysis for 18+ years and I also have it. I discovered I had it when going in for testing to see if I could donate a kidney for her. Later on I found out that the disease is genetic and children of mothers with PKD have a 50% chance of inheriting the disease. You can check out my posts from last year to find out more, but basically, PKD is short for polycystic kidney disease. In my case, I have too many cysts to count, but they aren’t impeding my kidney function so far. I am monitored by a nephrologist (who I LOVE) and I try to eat healthy and take care of myself so the disease doesn’t progress any faster than normal.

Since you will be hearing more about this in future posts this year, I’ll cut it short and just tell you that I am already registered and can start raising money immediately. I myself will again be donating a personal pledge for myself and also in my mother’s memory. You can feel good knowing that 100% of the money raised goes to research! Go to walkforpkd.org to donate, whether you do it for my team or not is totally up to you, I do want to surpass last year’s goal however-I’m shooting for $500 this year. If you are a company, or know if one who would like to sponsor the walk, get sponsor info at: julier@pkdcure.org or call 816-268-8462, or go to the sponsorship tab at PKD Foundation page.

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 281-Wednesday’s Medical Minute-Time to Gear Up For Walk PKD

  1. Ron Walker says:

    Best of luck on the walk and donations! A great cause.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    Thanks Ron, there was more but my computer is giving me fits this morning, so I will update it later. Thanks for reading!

    Like

Care to comment?

