Day 299-MET-Why I Decided To Become A Writer

The summer after my mom passed away, we were on vacation in Crystal Beach, Tx. and as I lounged on the sun deck catching up on emails and such,  I came across one of those ads for “Become a barefoot writer.” I have to admit, I was intrigued and maybe part of me was looking for something different to do with my life. When you experience loss, you sometimes need something to fill that hole, for me that was writing. At first, after reading that article and several others, it was all about how to make money as a writer. All the content I was reading had to do with becoming a copywriter and how I could make a good living as a writer, from anywhere in the world, as long as I had a computer and an internet connection, in my pajamas if I wanted! Well, who doesn’t want that dream? Anyway, since then my focus has changed and while I’d still like to make money, I realized that I can’t do that without providing a service to others at the same time. You have to give your readers something of value. Something they want or need. Help them solve a problem, fix what’s broken or offer some product or service designed to assist them some way.

Thing is, somewhere along the way I discovered that I love to write. Also, that I’m addicted to learning. I take more classes and read more material than I get words written. I’m struggling with my blog and website, but I keep trying and keep writing content and someday, maybe I’ll figure out how it all comes together. I’ve taken classes on copywriting, essay writing, marketing, social media, blogging and affiliate marketing. You would think that by now, something would have clicked and I would have it all put together and working like a well-oiled machine. Not. But I will get there if I keep my focus true and never give up on my dream. So far, I’ve written one article that paid me some money. Maybe I need to get back to that, write some how-to articles or step-by-step tutorials and submit them to some publications that pay. That way, I get compensated for providing something people may want or need.

But the other dream is creative writing and I can’t seem to get away from that. I want to someday write a book. I mean the kind with a plot and characters and a beginning, middle and end. That’s why my blog is such a confusing mess right now because I can’t make up my mind exactly what kind of writer I want to be…still. I’ve been at it almost three years now, playing around on other publications like Medium and Prose because I think I can do it all and really, I can’t. Or I shouldn’t. I should pick one thing and run with it, I just have to do some soul searching and decide which one resonates with me the most. Follow your heart they say. But what if my heart wants it all? I’m like a spoiled brat or petulant child, I want it all and I want it now! Well, I will make this promise to you, I will figure it out. If I keep writing and studying, someday it will all click and I will devise a way to write what you need to read,  you will either learn something, get the advice you need, be entertained, or be helped in some other way and maybe I will earn a little something. Isn’t that what it’s all about? Then again, maybe I will finally write a novel and it will become a best seller…talk about a dream!

I still need your thoughts, suggestions, and feedback. You have to tell me what you want and/or need. Do you want me to keep the blog going just as it is, or do you want to see some changes? Do you like articles, recipes, tutorials or reviews? What subjects do you want me to write about? Writing, alternative health, Paleo/Whole30 or something completely different?  These are the things I need from you, then I will be able to better design my blog to help you. Thanks for reading and following along, have a good day and I’ll be waiting for your responses on the patio.

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 299-MET-Why I Decided To Become A Writer

  1. Ron Walker says:

    At the risk of sounding like I’m just parroting someone else, I’d like to say just do what you enjoy. If you’d like to do helpful tips or projects, put them in a category. Others will run across them in Google searches. Nothing says a Blog or website has to be one subject. I know I enjoy reading here. Asking for input will help, as you’ve done. Incorporate what you can use and discard the rest. Main thing is to do what you want to do, that way it never feels like a chore or job. I’ve read your posts, you can be a writer and blogger easily.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. trE says:

    Ron said it best, Kim.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I will also say ditto to what Ron said! I have a friend who is a big big brother watcher on TV during the summer. She is such a big fan that she reads 2 or 3 different blogs on it, and tries to get me to read it! I have no desire, even though I am a dork myself and do watch the show! My thought is that the writers must really love what they are doing because I do not know anyone who would be overly thrilled just to write about it. Not only do the writers enjoy writing about it but the readers enjoy reading about it! Kind of like what I think we are saying to you in write what you enjoy because the readers who are interested will come! You are a good writer Kim nobody can take that away from you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kim Smyth says:

    Thanks Stephanie, I appreciate that. 😊

    Like

Care to comment?

