Day 307-Wednesday’s Medical Minute-How Biotin Benefits a Body

Good morning and how are you today?

I thought I would make a case for Biotin, formerly known as Vitamin H, this morning as to how it helps strengthen and grow hair and nails, and why it is necessary for cell growth. It seems that being deficient in Biotin is rare, most people get it from eggs and butter, the rest get it from supplementation. Soybeans and beef liver are the best sources-does anybody really eat that stuff?

A few of the ways to determine if you are deficient can be:

  • Brittle thin nails
  • Hair loss
  • conjunctivitis
  • Dermatitis- a scaly red rash around the eyes, nose, mouth and genital area.

The last two only occur when the deficiency is severe.

The discovery of Biotin was made by biochemist Dean Burke, who found that it has an unusual structure and is necessary for the production of fats and amino acids.

Photo credit: Wikipedia

I take biotin daily as a supplement because although my nails grow like weeds, my hair is another story, not to mention, I do not eat soy-beans or otherwise, and I HATE liver! The jury is still out on whether it does me any good, yet I will continue to take it because one gets so little in a normal diet. However, I do eat sunflower seeds and lots of Kerrygold butter, which are ok sources, if not the best. Eggs are the lowest on the list at 18.9 mcg but I eat them pretty regularly. One only needs 30 micrograms a day to get 100% of their daily requirement.

How do you get your Biotin? Vitamin B supplements? Do you really like liver? If you have a great idea for food sources, I would love to hear it. Just comment below and let a girl know! I’ll be waiting on the patio for your suggestions. Have a great day!

 

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 307-Wednesday’s Medical Minute-How Biotin Benefits a Body

  1. Ladybuggz says:

    Eggs. They’re full of biotin, a B vitamin that promotes hair growth and overall scalp health. A deficiency can cause brittle hair. Other high-biotin foods include peanuts, almonds, wheat bran, salmon, low-fat cheese, and avocados.
    Now we don’t have to eat Liver (UCK!) or Soya !! 🙂 A company I used to sell for sold Biotin capsules for hair growth, I believe it was made out of a grass called Horse Hair, a short spikey grass.
    Biotin is usually paired with Zinc, to make it work better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Smyth says:

    Thanks for the extra info!!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

