Day 314-Because Of You

Today I am not going to do my normal Throwback Thursday instead,  I want to thank everyone who has given to my PKD walk or otherwise supported the Foundation and ask that you join me again this year as I prepare to walk again this fall. This is one of several posts you can expect before October, I will try to make future posts more exciting and fun!

PKD Foundation

Those who know me and follow my blog have all heard my story, but for those that might be new here, PKD stands for polycystic kidney disease. Currently, my status is that I have too many cysts to count, yet they are not bothering my kidney function and I am otherwise healthy. I may have bad knees and arthritis and normal aches and pains, but that’s no different than any other 56 year old! However, as far as insurance companies are concerned, my condition is considered fatal therefore, I cannot get life insurance. Thank goodness that right now I am covered by my husband’s insurance or I might be up a creek.

It is because of you and your generous support that important research has been able to take place, research that will one day bring a cure to this debilitating and potentially fatal disease. My mother had it and died from it, I also have it, but currently,  I am not in any danger and my labwork looks wonderful, praise the Lord!

You can help me by joining a walk close to you, volunteering your time serving at one of the walks or donating money for research so that we can someday find a cure. My local chapter will walk again this October and we are currently taking donations. Be a hero again, help us beat last year’s goal and know that your dollars go 100% to projects like the ones involving 5+ potential PKD treatments now in clinical trials. Last year you helped us reach the goal of 2.5+ million dollars in science and research funding and walked the road with thousands of patients and families in 60 local US Chapters.

Register today at walkforpkd.org and if you choose to support my team, great! I am in the portal North Texas Walk for PKD as Kim Smyth (I don’t actually have a “team” yet but I will by Oct.!) Thanks in advance for any help or donation you are able to give, I realize there are many causes to support out there, I appreciate you considering ours.

If you have questions or comments, please feel free to let me know. See you mañana on the patio!

 

 

2 Replies to “Day 314-Because Of You”

  1. I hate to read that a person is uninsurable, that blows my mind. Peace, Kim. You are such a delightful person and I too, am glad you’re on your husband’s insurance.

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

