Day 326-Wellness Wednesday-How Do You Use Cedarwood Essential Oil?

Did you know that cedar trees were mentioned in the Bible as a source of wisdom and protection? Neither did I, or I had forgotten. Anyway, I used some of my own this morning and its powerful aroma is still with me. I decided to explore more of the uses and benefits of this amazing essential oil. Let’s discover them together,  shall we?

Photo credit: Pixabay

The health benefits of cedarwood oil come from these major components, alpha-cedrene, beta-cedrene, cedrol, widdrol, thujopsene, and a bunch of sesquiterpenes…have you ever even heard of these before? Well, essential oils are made up of many chemical constituents that can be subdivided into two groups: hydrocarbons, which are made up of mostly terpenes (monoterpenes, sesquiterpenes, and diterpenes) and oxygenated compounds, which are mainly esters (aldehydes, ketones, alcohols, phenols,  and oxides). Whew! That is just some of the science that describes what make essential oils so darn beneficial to the body, yet we would be here all day if I described what each and every one of these things does. The best thing for you to do if you are interested in learning more about the science is to check out this website Abundant Health who break down each constituent and explain how they help clean toxins from the body and more. I can tell you that terpenes are responsible for removing toxins from the kidneys and liver and esters are antifungal, calming, and relaxing.

I noticed that after inhaling the pungent, woodsy scent this morning, my focus became sharper and I knew exactly what I wanted to talk about today. That just happens to be one of the many benefits of this EO which makes it great for people with ADD and other problems one might have with focus. Let me tell you some more benefits that Dr. Axe let me in on, and he would be happy to give you all a free book and grocery shopping list if you check his website out. Just click on his name and it will take you to his very informative website. Anyhoo, here goes:

  • cures fungal infections
  • promotes hair growth
  • repels bugs
  • cures acne
  • improves focus
  • is anti-inflammatory
  • relieves spasms
  • reduces coughs
  • cleans out toxins

…and so much more!

Now let me tell you some of the many uses for cedarwood essential oil:

By adding it to soap, lotion or your bath, cedarwood oil can cure the inflammation of the common skin disorder, eczema. It reduces the peeling of the skin and treats the infection with its anti-fungal properties.

Studies also show that by combining cedarwood with other essential oils like rosemary, lavender, and thyme and applying them to the scalp, they contribute to hair growth and slow the loss of hair. Well! I have three of those oils, so maybe I ought to give this a try. All you have to do is add a few drops of each to your shampoo or just massage it into your scalp and let it sit 30 minutes before rinsing it out. Shoot, it’s worth a shot and better than buying a wig, which I was just on the verge of doing!

Do you suffer from dry scalp? Then mix a couple of drops of cedarwood into a little coconut oil and massage into your scalp. Let it sit on your scalp for 30 minutes and shampoo out.

The same mixture can be applied to wounds as an antiseptic. 

Taking a bath with 10 drops will help relieve arthritis and stiff joints by reducing inflammation. Inhaling the oil will work as well.

Cedarwood is also a natural deodorizer and it provides a comforting, reassuring wood-like scent. Believe it or not, it has the power to change your perspective and by diffusing it, you will have long lasting therapeutic effects. It is commonly used in perfumes to add a warm tone and it has been known to bring people together.

Using cedarwood in your massage oil will help tighten loose muscles and create a feeling of firmness and youth. It can also tighten the muscles of the digestive system and aid with issues like diarrhea. Just rub a few drops in your hands and massage your abs, arms, chest, and legs for a soothing and fresh sensation. What a versatile oil this is, right?There are so many other uses for this oil which is sometimes derived from waste wood chips which help people benefit from repurposed wood.

There are some side effects to discuss: this is too strong of an oil to be ingested, Additionally, pregnant women should not use it. Do not use in high concentrations or it can cause skin irritations. Ingestion can cause nausea, vomiting and extensive damage to the digestive system.

Now, I am not getting any kind of kickback or incentive to direct you to Dr. Axe but he has a great website, and if you visit right now and look up cedarwood oil, there are some DIY cologne and vapor rub recipes, along with all the other info I talked about here today. He has always been my go-to for excellent instruction on essential oil use, recipes and more.

 

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Care to comment?

