Ouch!

I know, I said I wasn’t going to write for a few days, but I wanted to update everyone on the progress (or lack thereof) dealing with my stupid knee. Yesterday I was supposed to get my first Euflexxa injection (a gel-like, highly purified form of hyaluronic acid, which is a natural substance found in the body that helps cushion, lubricate, and protect the joints.)

Although I did not get Euflexxa yet, this is exactly how I got the cortisone shot!!

I saw the doctor for the first time however, and he suggested that may not be right for me based on the level of arthritis I have, the fact that my kneecap has NO cushion under it anymore, making my knee a painful, crunchy mess. He suggested I get a cortisone shot to get me through the next two weeks and then when we get back from our trip to see family in Mississippi, I will get an MRI to see exactly what we are dealing with. Then he can say whether the other medicine will benefit me or if I should try something else.

He said I will be facing a total knee replacement in the future, I of course knew that already, but he wants me to be comfortable until I’m ready, which is why he wants to give me some non-surgical options. There are other medications besides Euflexxa injections that may help, or I may have to have surgery sooner than later, I’m just not sure yet. I will keep you all posted! Thanks ahead of time for your prayers, concerns and well wishes. Hopefully, I will be back to gardening pain free before we know it!

oh yes, and HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY EVERYONE!! πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

About Kim Smyth

I love writing about my passions, my paleo journey and essential oils and what they do for me. I want to help others by giving them useful news they can use and teach them about this lifestyle I've grown to love. I'm married and we have three grown children who are off living their​ own lives. We also have two pets, our Shorkies who are like our babies. Find me at Kimmy's Patio or drop me a line at contact@kimsmyth.org or kimberlysmyth@icloud.com.
Image | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ouch!

  1. That’s good 😊 I had a MRI scan quite a few years ago on one knee. Apartently the kneecap and the calf bone did not meet in a straight line! I was told I could have surgery but I may end up with a limp so because I was just about ready to move to Spain I opted out. Surgery would be the last resort. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. If you opt for a total knee replacement, count on me to cheer you on. I had both of mine done and am very pleased with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim Smyth says:

    I’m glad you had such good results! I appreciate you being my cheerleader 😊

    Like

  4. trE says:

    I am sorry to read of the pain you are still having with your knee. I hope you are able to enjoy your vacation without too much focus on it. Peace, Kim.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Kim Smyth says:

    Right! That’s why he also wanted to make sure I had some pain pills for the trip. Hope I don’t need em but I’ll get em just in case! 😘

    Like

  6. Ladybuggz says:

    I sent you a message via Facebook….I hope your trip goes well! Good luck with your knee, when mine hurts I’ll think of you! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I may be heading down that road to knee replacement myself, in the future. I have to say that I have heard really good things about the surgery. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment?

